Final Fantasy XIII-2 – Finally


After being behind the curve on getting a chance to play this game,I finally found time this week to take a crack at it.

First off let me say that right off the bat this game surpassed my expectations. I am roughly half way through the game but I have found less to complain about than I thought.

My biggest complaint is still the battle system. I was not impressed with it in XIII and I still am not impressed with it in XIII-2. I have stated this many times, as everyone who reads my blog knows, FF needs to go back to the turn based battle system and eliminated the retry. If yoy you strategy and a little common sense, why would you need to retry? The retry makes for lazy battles and takes the fun out of it.

Another complaint I have, up to where I am, is the lack of playable characters. Yes you have all the monsters to choose from but it’s not the same as using a person. The monsters play no part in the story line so it feels like they got lazy and didnt want to develop back story for characters.

The only other complaint I have is the quiz system. It sucks! Enough said.

Now for the things I like that have stood out in the game. I will more or less just list them as I hope to come back later and go into much more depth. For starters I like how I have the ability to roam around again. I hated the linear feel of XIII. I love that the chocobo races are back. I love how beautiful they have incorporated the original characters into the story. This was one of the biggest surprises to me. And to finish off my likes as of where I am is Mog.

As always I look forward to your comments and hope to see you at the forums!
Althalus

Leave a Reply

